top of page

The phone call that changed everything

Hello!

As stated in my first blog post, I applied to the Peace Corps. What I haven't told you, however, is that I got an interview, and was offered a position to become a Primary Education English Co-Teacher in Micronesia on July 20, 2017. About two months after I accepted my invitation, I got a call. It was on September 1st, to be exact. This phone call proved to be quite life changing. It stated that Micronesia was being canceled. I was asked if I wanted to still Volunteer, and of course I said yes! Within the week I had 3 new volunteering options.

Mongolia as a Public Health Educator

Vanuatu as a Primary Education English Teacher-Trainer.

Georgia as a Public Health Educator.

Can you guess which country I chose? If you guessed Vanuatu, you are correct!

For those of you who haven't heard of Vanuatu, here is the basics you need to know. Vanuatu is a country based in the South Pacific Ocean. It is east of Australia and north of New Zealand. Vanuatu consists of more than 80 islands. According to the CIA website for Vanuatu, 65 of the islands are inhabitable.

This tiny little country is a Y-shaped chain of islands which consists of many active volcanoes (both above and below water). Many of the islands are mountainous with narrow coastal plains. Out of all the locations available through the P.C., Vanuatu has a pretty high head count when it comes to natural disasters. The natural disasters that are common to the islands of Vanuatu include tropical cyclones, earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions. This isn't surprising when you realize that it's located within the ring of fire.

The Ni-Vanuatu (what the people of Vanuatu call themselves) population speaks more than 100 languages. The main languages however are: Bislama, English, and French. While I am in Vanuatu, I will learn how to speak Bislama. Bislama is a pidgen language, so it resembles the English language a ton.

Okay, I have talked enough about Vanuatu.. you probably want to see it, so here it is!

​​

While waiting for April 13, 2018 to come around, I have been getting stuff done. I was able to get legal clearance, which was surprisingly quick. I'm still in the process of getting my medical/dental clearance, but it shouldn't be much longer. Today I turned in the last of the papers the nurse has requested. Hopefully I am done with doctor appointments.

Wish me luck!!

Sadie

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page